Christmas Memories

28 Dec

We are simply having a wonderful Christmas time over here. Although, I have to say I was really disappointed when I was wished a “Happy New Year” this afternoon with no mention of Christmas. I mean, we’ve got like 8 more days, people!

Anyway, I wanted to share a few tidbits of our Christmas.

Image

This was the first Christmas we weren’t either getting back from our honeymoon or moving, so it was also our first opportunity to get a tree! It’s lovely to have a good ole fir in the living room, but Charles and I both cringe a little when we remember how we totally got ripped off buying it. We went to one of those Christmas tree lots that pop up on the side of the road and bought our tree on Gaudete Sunday, two weeks ago. Charles talked the guy down ten bucks to get it down to $50, and then a couple days later I found out Lowes has trees this size on sale for $10. You better believe we’ll b-line it to Lowes next year.

We had both sides of the family over at our place for Christmas dinner. To put it nicely, our duplex is “cozy,” as in, there’s really only room for the three of us. However, we were determined to find a way to all eat together, and with a little creativity and some furniture rearranging, this is what we came up with:

Image

Why yes, that is a folding table in our living room! And my parents and mother-in-law seated on the couch! Despite the interesting seating arrangements, I dare say everyone enjoyed themselves–I know I did! It was wonderful to have everyone together. (Although, I’m dying to see my sister, brother-in-law, and nephew! We’re getting together next month!)

All in all, it was wonderful to feel settled for once and to enjoy our time as a family. I think I’d better soak up the “settled” feeling while it lasts; there’s a good chance we’ll be moving (just to a new place, not out of town) in 2013. Oh, the life of a vagabond!

ImageImage

Merry Christmas, y’all!

Love,

Erica

2 Responses to “Christmas Memories”

  1. Caitlin December 28, 2012 at 2:53 pm #

    I’m so glad you had a settled Christmas! I love that picture of you with your baby girl!!! :)

  2. kristi December 28, 2012 at 9:56 pm #

    Love your pictures! And Costco has huge trees for $30 every year… just a quick note to self. Patrick and I were just speaking about how adorable Natalie is… she is a beauty. (Are you moving soon because you may need more space? For more babies?) ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

