My latest sewing venture.

2 Nov

When the weather started to cool off here in Nashville, I spent a few weeks searching for the perfect maternity coat. I wanted something cute, affordable, and 100% wool. I soon realized said coat does not exist. So, I decided to take matters into my own hands! Enter: my cape!

Just in case anyone thought I was cool, you

This was a fun project, and I learned a lot in the process of completing it.

For one thing, welted pockets aren’t scary, especially if you take your time making them. Before sewing any major seams (included those welted pockets), I basted!

Our carpet was soon littered with remnants of pink string. Don

This took a considerable amount of time, but I usually did my basting while watching Breaking Bad on Netflix, so it wasn’t terribly boring. Okay, rabbit hole, but I just realized I tend to watch questionable/violent movies and TV shows when I’m sewing. The baby quilt I made a few months ago? Stitched it up while watching An Education (illicit sexual relationships), Pulp Fiction (drugs, lots of swearing), Reservoir Dogs (SO much blood, SO much swearing), and Silence of the Lambs (cannibalism, murder, sewing your victims’ skin into a new set of skin for yourself so you can pretend to be a woman, but don’t worry Jodie Foster kicks some butt and saves the day… spoiler?).

Anyway, I really took my time with this project, and I’m pleased to say it is my favorite piece of apparel I’ve made to date. Allow me to show it off a bit more:

And, as luck would have it, the day after I finally finish my cold-weather cape project, we get hit with a heat wave. Womp, womp.

– Erica

5 Responses to “My latest sewing venture.”

  1. Julia Belsante November 2, 2011 at 4:55 pm #

    love it, girl! what pattern did you use? did i miss that part? šŸ™‚

  2. Sydney November 2, 2011 at 5:39 pm #

    So impressive, Erica! I love the look.

  3. ericapage November 2, 2011 at 8:07 pm #

    Thanks girls!

    Julia, I used McCall’s 6446. And I used Melton wool from fabricmartfabrics.com. The pattern was super easy to follow, and the fabric was a breeze to work with.

    Syd- I’m glad you like it! I got to see Cristina last weekend, and when I told her I was making a cape, she said it was “so Syd.” Haha.

  4. Laura Breyley November 27, 2011 at 3:30 pm #

    Erica, I had no idea you were so crafty. I love this jacket, very classy! Also, I love Breaking Bad but do sometimes wonder why I am addicted to such a heavy (drugs, murder, lies) show. Crazy. Hope you’re doing well šŸ™‚

    • ericapage November 27, 2011 at 3:55 pm #

      Thank you, Laura! Just lovely to hear from you. I’m doing well these days; hope you are, too!

Leave a Reply

