A Birthday Weekend Tribute

5 Nov

I have the best husband in the world. Everyone says the first year of marriage is supposed to be difficult, but I’ve had a blast being married to Charles. Seriously, I’ve had more belly laughs these past 10 months than I’ve had in my whole life.

In honor of Charles’s birthday weekend (actual birthday: Nov 6), I’m honoring seven atributes of Charles, kindergarten acrostic style.

Charming- A waltz in the living room when you get home from work? Yes, please!

Hilarious- If you’ve ever met Charles, you know he’s funny. Charles’s sense of humor is a perfect blend of wit and goof. He can make me laugh with a clever pun, then pretent to slip and fall on a patch of ice. Both will have me in stitches.

Athletic- Even though Charles didn’t grow up playing a ton of sports (his high school made students choose between band and sports. How sad is that?), Charles has a lot of athletic ability. And even though I’ve been an amateur runner for about 10 years, Charles has always been able to kick my butt on a weekend run. And you should see this guy play ultimate frisbee. It’s a joy to behold.

Regal- Charles knows how to get dressed up. His bow ties and pocket squares always perfectly complement his ensemble on Sunday mornings. He also has impeccable manners, the occasional I’m-exhausted-let’s-just-eat-dinner-on-the-couch night, excepted.

Loving- Charles loves me. He tells me that he loves me all the time, in many creative ways. He shows me he loves me, too. On nights that my legs just can’t hold up the pregnant version of me any longer, Charles cooks dinner, does the dishes, and makes our lunches for the next day. Charles is very generous with his love.

Enthusiastic- Charles’s enthusiasm always puts me in a good mood. You should see the excitement he can muster about going to the grocery store on Sunday afternoons, especially if he knows I’m less than thrilled to go. A few hours of errands can become a grand adventure to Charles.

Studious- Poor Charles thought he was done studying when we graduated college. Then, he decided he wanted to be an actuary, and now it’s back to studying! The tests an actuary-to-be must take are filled with math problems that I wouldn’t even begin to know how to solve. Most of Charles’s after-dinner hours and Saturday mornings are taken up by studying for the actuary exams, but he doesn’t complain. That’s partly due to the fact that he’s a nerd and likes math, and partly due to the fact that he wants to be in a position to provide the very best for this baby, and his or her future 9 siblings. 🙂 I am thankful for a husband who works as hard as he does.

So Charles, as I hear you hum along to monk chants while grading papers in the study, know that I love you and am so thankful for you. I would have happily settled for being a casual acquaintance when I first met you. To be married to you is better than anything I could have ever hoped for.

-Erica

Happy birthday, and Go 'Dores!

3 Responses to “A Birthday Weekend Tribute”

  1. Kiersten Hansen November 5, 2011 at 11:45 am #

    Erica I love this! Ya’ll are adorable. Can’t wait to meet the little bean.

  2. betsy November 5, 2011 at 6:21 pm #

    Sweet sweet sweet. Charles is very lucky to have such a kind and poetic wife!

  3. fabi January 14, 2012 at 4:19 pm #

    How romantic!!!! Congrats to both of you!

Leave a Reply

