Gratitude

9 Jun

The strangest thing has been happening to me lately at the most unlikely times. After I’ve been frustrated to my limits, I’ve found myself grateful. Several nights ago, Natalie, usually a great night-time sleeper, just had the hardest time getting settled at the end of the day. I spent forever calming her down until she drifted off, setting her down oh so gently, only to have her burst into tears (real ones!) and screams moments later. This went on for hours. Hours. I was exhausted. Charles and I had been switching on and off, and I was barely able to pull myself together when it was my turn. But, sitting in the glider with (my) tear stained cheeks, I was overwhelmed with gratitude. I was just SO happy about the life that’s mine. Certainly, our current situation is not ideal, nor where I hope it will be in a few years. I could go on and on about the changes we are trying to make, but in the midst of all that, I am so thankful for moments when grace breaks through and I am able to be thankful.

Leave a Reply

